Tags

, ,

Once in a Full Moon (Full Moon, #1)Once in a Full Moon by Ellen Schreiber
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I wanted to like this. And I did like the first few chapters. I thought that Celeste wasn’t annoying and that I’d probably like the series more than Vampire Kisses because (1) Celeste was less annoying than Raven, (2) Celeste seemed more sensible and less impatient than Raven and (3) werewolves are hotter than vampires (in my opinion, anyway. They seem more rugged :D)

As soon as Brandon was in the picture, I changed my mind. I’ve never known a heroine to be so obsessed with the ‘hero’ (with the possible exception being Bella Swan, but I don’t think she whinged as much. When I say Celeste was obsessed with Brandon – I mean, that’s ALL she talked about. There weren’t even any little asides, practically every paragraph mentioned her pining away for Brandon. I was very sorely tempted to put the book down, but I can’t do that. I have to finish books!

Even the werewolves in this book weren’t werewolves – just a man that suddenly has a goatee (not even a beard), a hairy chest, abs and fangs. He didn’t even have a wolf tail or wolf ears, so I don’t get why he kept being described as a werewolf – he was just a slightly hairy, muscly man.

I prefer Raven’s best friend, Becky (in Vampire Kisses), as she was nice. Celeste’s best friends, Ivy and Abby, are very superficial and shallow – like cliquey popular girls you see in high school films. To be honest, I think I prefer Raven to Celeste – at least Raven has guts.

The story seemed a bit stilted at time – bits and pieces just didn’t flow together, and the characters would suddenly be talking about something completely different with no build up to it whatsoever.

Saying all that, because I’ve started the series, I’m going to finish it, and I hope that the next book is better than this one…

View all my reviews

