Tags

,

Death and the Girl Next Door (Darklight, #1)Death and the Girl Next Door by Darynda Jones
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I liked the plot of this book and the banter between the friends but it got a bit too religious for me near the end, otherwise I would have given this book another star.

The heroine is another short one (seriously, they’re either ridiculously tall or ridiculously short. Can’t any author just write a normal height heroine? Please?)

The hero(?) is hot! And I know he’s supposed to be 16 but, since he’s technically the Angel of Death, then he’s older, so it’s okay to like him. But it might be a bit creepy on his part, considering he’s thousands of years old…

The ‘Sanctuary’ that showed up at the end and consisted of random townsfolk seemed a bit too timid and feared Jared a bit too much. Yes, he’s the Angel of Death but don’t tremble at his feet! The grandparents got a bit on the annoying side with the ‘Your Grace’ stuff, too.

There was a bit about a quarter of the way into the book when the three friends are looking for Jared and Cameron and Lorelei ‘conveniently’ remembers Jared’s real name from her vision. It pops into her head literally seconds before she tells Jared she knows. It was odd and seemed a bit too convenient for my liking.

It took me a while to realise what the paranormal being in this series would be (grim reapers, essentially) but I liked that I had to guess.

All in all, this was a nice, quick read but, as I mentioned above, it got a bit too religious-y for me near the end. But I want to read the rest of the series!

View all my reviews

