Tags

, , ,

Surprising Lord Jack (Duchess of Love, #2)Surprising Lord Jack by Sally MacKenzie
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m sorry Jack, but Cameron Mackenzie (of The Many Sins of Lord Cameron Mackenzie) is definitely hotter. But you’re nicer!!

So, anywho, Frances Hadley, our heroine, has had a horrible upbringing, with horrible family. But after something unforgivable happens, Frances, finally fed up, runs away. Dressed as a boy. Where she then happens to spend the night dressed as a boy, sharing a bed with Lord Jack Valentine. The scandal!

But Jack Valentine, being the secret sweetheart that he is, manages (with the help of his family, and the side of Frances’ family that aren’t arseholes) to keep Frances’ good reputation (mostly) in tact.

But, along the way, the happen to fall in love (obviously. They’re the two main characters in a romance novel).

I like the characters in this series. They all seem very 3D and real. I like that Frances seems quite shy, but she’s actually pretty spunky. She has bite and I love it!

Jack is smart, funny, kind and handsome to boot! But not, unfortunately, ruggedly handsome (which seems to be a theme with books I’m reading at the minute). But oh well. I wouldn’t say no.

One thing that got to me a little bit in this book was that everything seemed to conveniently happen when they needed it to. It got a bit tiring, to say the least.

But, other than that, I can’t really fault this book. I recommend it for those of you who enjoy a good romance novel!

View all my reviews

