Tags

,

Kissing ShakespeareKissing Shakespeare by Pamela Mingle
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I don’t really know what to make of this book. I thought the story sounded good but the characters were awful! Not everything has to be about sex! Miranda/Olivia/whatever doesn’t seem to realise that she can make Shakespeare fall for her without sleeping with him. She kept going on and on and ON about it. It got old pretty fast.

I also found it a bit weird how, even in romantic moments, Stephen calls Miranda ‘Olivia’. I know she’s pretending to be his sister but telling ‘Olivia’ he loves her is like him saying he romantically loves his sister – bit weird.

I wanted to like Shakespeare’s character. I really did. I mean, he’s Shakespeare! But it was hard. I liked his character better than the other two main characters but he just seemed so weedy and a huge pushover. That’s not how I imagine Shakespeare to be at all.

The ending of this book was a bit ambiguous. I honestly thought that (SPOILER) Stephen would go back to the present with Miranda and the two of them could be together. But no, he stayed in the past… (END SPOILER).

All in all, this book was okay for a quick read (even though it took me over a week, but I had other stuff I needed to sort out as well). I’d recommend it if you want something fun-ish.

I probably won’t be updating for another couple weeks, as I mentioned in my last post that I’m going to Venice (tomorrow!) then almost immediately to Coventry, then Exeter, before heading back up north to Aberdeen when college starts. So, I’m gonna be focusing on that for a while. I might post photo updates, but I don’t think I’ll have much time…

View all my reviews

