Tags

, ,

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve been meaning to read this for a while but, for some reason, I keep putting it off. But now that the film is coming out, I’ve decided to finally read it. I’m glad I did. The story was good, original(ish) – which is getting pretty hard to be when most genres have done everything.

Clara was an okay main character. She pointed out the obvious a lot, but asked all the questions that the reader wanted to know pretty soonish. One thing that bugged me about her was that she didn’t seem to think before she did anything. She could be putting herself and everyone around her in danger and she didn’t seem to notice – or care. If she wanted to do something, she’d do it, damn the consequences – until they’d actually happened. And then, she’d have no idea why what happened actually happened, as I’m screaming in my head ‘It’s because of you!!’.

Jace was a nice hero. He bugged the heroine – and kept it up. It didn’t last for the usual two chapters and fizzle out, like most novels are wont to do. He was persistently annoying – in a sweet way.

Simon, the best friend, who is obviously in love with Clara (even though it’s forever to be one-sided), was an okay side character. He’s the typical(ish) geek and it gets mentioned every now and then. He’s a bit clueless about the dangers of the Shadowhunter world, which could get him and others in danger.

I also liked Isabelle and her brother Alec (Jace’s best friends), for the simple reason that they were pretty blunt about everything. Also, badass. Badass is good.

All in all, I liked this book. I thought it was a different take on the paranormal genre and I’m looking forward to reading the next installment!

View all my reviews

