Tags

I made macarons! And they didn’t burn! And they have FEET! Also, they’re green because, you know, red and blue makes green, not purple. Logic.

IMG_0458

But, green aside, I made macarons!  With feet!  And they didn’t burn!  And this is only my fifth attempt at making them!!  (The baking course doesn’t count.  That was only one day and I had people helping me).  Yay!  (You have no idea how excited I am about this).

IMG_0457

Macarons seem to like tormenting me when I try and make them.  They either burn, or I don’t get the feet, or both, or they go ball shaped (I’ve still no idea how that happened).  But these didn’t!!  Get in!

Although, I have to admit, for the close up shots I only took pictures of the less green ones, so they look (sort of) purple.  Like they’re supposed to be.

Ingredients
Shells

  • 175g icing sugar
  • 125g ground almonds
  • 3 egg whites (separated and aged overnight.  Bring them to room temperature before using)
  • 75g caster sugar

Filling

  • 150g butter
  • 75g icing sugar

Method
Preheat oven to 160C.  Line 2 baking trays with baking paper and draw out circles as a guideline for piping the macarons (about 3cm big and 2cm apart).

Using a blender, blend the icing sugar and ground almonds together, then sift into a bowl.

Whisk the eggs whites, in a separate bowl, with a pinch of sugar, until soft peaks start to form.  Add the caster sugar and whisk until thick and shiny.  You can add food colouring or flavouring at this point, if you want to.  I would recommend food colour paste, as it doesn’t alter the consistency of the mixture.

Fold in half of the icing sugar/ground almond mixture and mix well.  Add the other half and fold the mixture until it has a thick consistency (I’ve heard people describe this as ‘magma-like’.  No idea what that means, as I’ve never seen magma in real life.  Basically, you want it to be able to pour, but not too runny).  Spoon the mixture into a piping bag with a 1cm plain nozzle (I used the number 10 one).

Pipe your rounds onto your baking sheets, filling the circles about 3/4 of the way (they’ll spread).  Bang the sheets against the counter to pop any bubbles and leave them to sit at room temperature for about half an hour, or until you can touch the top and it isn’t sticky.

Bake for 10 minutes (5 minutes, turn the tray around, another 5 minutes).  Once cooked, let them cool completely on a wire rack.

IMG_0456

For the filling, beat the butter until light and fluffy, then add in the icing sugar.  Spoon onto half of the macaron shells when they’re completely cool and top with the other half.

Chill in the fridge for at least one hour before eating (I know it’s tempting, but they taste so much better after having been chilled).

Bon apetit!

IMG_0459

