Tags

,

An actual baking post!  I think it’s been forever since I did one of these!  Mainly because, whenever I bake, I forget that I can tell people about it (or the end result ends up looking really bad.  I don’t want people to be scarred for life).

IMG_0425

I’ve always wanted to try making a flourless chocolate cake but I’ve always been distracted by other things (trying to perfect my macarons, college, the fact that halls doesn’t have an oven so I can only bake whenever I go home, etc).  But I finally made one! IMG_0427

Ingredients

  • 300g plain chocolate (I used Bourneville.  I love the stuff)
  • 200g unsalted butter
  • 5 eggs
  • 200g castor sugar

Method Set the oven to 180C.  Grease an 8 inch springform pan and dust with cocoa powder (no flour, remember?).

Melt chocolate and butter in a microwave for 20 second intervals, stirring each time, until smooth.  When there are only a few lumps of chocolate left, keep stirring to melt the rest.  Don’t risk burning it!

In another bowl, mix together the castor sugar and the eggs.  Once smooth, mix in the chocolate and butter mixture.

Pour the mixture into the sprinform pan and cover the top with tin foil.  Put the pan in a roasting dish that can be used as a water bath.  Fill the roasting dish with hot water so that it comes halfway up the springform pan (if your springform pan isn’t waterproof, cover it in tin foil).

Bake for 1 hour 40 minutes.  When cooked, remove the pan from the bath and the tin foil.  Cool the cake on a wire rack.  I’d wait until it’s completely cool before removing the bottom of the pan, otherwise you’ll get suction and half the cake will stick.

Enjoy!

IMG_0428

