Tags

, ,

Sacrifice (Legacy, #3)Sacrifice by Cayla Kluver
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I liked the first book in this series a lot and thought that the whole series sounded promising. The second book was pretty good, too. This one, however, was okay. It sort of seemed like, since the series is a trilogy, the author was trying to hurry things up and make everything all happily ever after. It was all a bit…rushed.

The main character, Alera, really annoys me in this book. She’s queen and she’s supposed to be strong and in control of things. But it didn’t seem that way at all. In fact, she seemed pretty clueless as to what was going on and it was only because of everyone else’s actions that she got her kingdom back. The main thing that annoyed me about her, however, was the fact that she forgave Narian way too easily. One minute they’re arguing and the next, they’re making out. I mean, seriously, what?

Even though this was the last book in the series, the author decided to introduce another point of view – Shaselle, Steldor’s cousin. At first, I really liked her. She’s strong, assertive and knows what’s going on around her. And then, (spoiler) when Saadi (the guy she’s interested in) dies, she’s quick to move on to the next guy. There’s no mourning at all. She goes from hating him, to loving him, to getting engaged to another guy (end spoiler).

The characters that I did like in this series were the guys. As always, Cannan and London are badass and awesome. I also must be the only person who wanted Alera to be with Steldor instead of Narian. That being said, I do like Narian, too. But he’s not as good (or as hot) as Steldor.

But the main person I liked in this book was Saadi. She introduces him, gets us to like him and think he’s going to marry Shaselle. And then, (spoiler) she goes and kills him off. And it’s a really stupid death, too. He falls from a tree. I thought he was gonna come back! (end spoiler)

But, other than that, I did like the plot, and I’m a sucker for happily-ever-afters. I’m glad I followed this series through to the end.

View all my reviews

