Tags

, ,

The Madman's Daughter (The Madman's Daughter, #1)The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book is pretty similar to The Island of Dr. Moreau, except it follows his daughter’s trip to the island and the ‘adventures’ she has. I liked this sort of parallel to the original (I don’t remember it mentioning a daughter in The Island of Dr. Moreau. Maybe it did. It’s been years since I read it).

I quite liked this book, although I will admit that it took a little while to get into. But I’m putting that down to the fact that the past few books I’ve been reading are all light and fun, whereas this was dark and foreboding.

I didn’t know whether to like or dislike any of the characters. They seemed fine and then you find out something about them that makes you go ‘Oh, okay. Maybe not, then’. The only character that I consistently liked was Balthazar because he just seemed so sweet and innocent and genuinely wanted to help.

This book was full of twists and turns and I never knew what to expect. When stuff happened, I was just like ‘Never would’ve guessed that’. But I liked it. I’m usually the type who has to flick to the end (I know! Bad habit!) to find out if the characters get happy endings. But with this one, I liked the suspense. Also, that ending! I can’t wait for the next one!

I would recommend this book if you’ve read The Island of Dr. Moreau, just to get another side to the story. I would also recommend this book if you want something different, or dark. However, I’m not sure I’d recommend this book if you’re squeamish as some of the procedures were a bit gruesomely detailed.

View all my reviews

