Tags

, , , , ,

Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School, #1)Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Well, that’s me up to date with all of Miss Carriger’s work! And this book did not disappoint. Now I have to wait until November before I can get more of my Sophronia/Alexia/steampunk fix!

Anywho, moving on! This book has Sidheag and Genevieve in it as children! Well, Sidheag is thirteen, but Genevieve is nine years old and adorable!

This book is set before The Parasol Protectorate (obviously, as the two mentioned above are still children). The mechanics and inventions in the Parasol Protectorate are still in a developmental stage and it was interesting to see it as such.

Beatrice Lefoux (Genevieve’s really strict aunt) is one of Sophronia’s teachers! For some reason, I found this hilarious – an inventor teaching at a ‘finishing school’.

On another note, Sophronia is quite an unusual name – I like it. She also reminds me of Alexia, whilst her friend, Dimity, reminds me of Ivy. Dimity is really easy-going and I find it amusing that her and her brother, Pillover’s, parents are evil geniuses and yet their kids are both good guys.

Sophronia reminds me of me when I was her age. I grew up in the countryside and was always outside, climbing on anything and everything that I could.

Even though there’s only the one book out so far, I really enjoyed it and can’t wait for the next one to be released!

View all my reviews

