Tags

, , , ,

Changeless (Parasol Protectorate, #2)Changeless by Gail Carriger
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love this series! I’m so glad that all five books are out because I don’t think I could’ve waited for the next one. That ending! I started the third one literally straight after I’d finished this one.

As with the last one, I love Alexia’s straight-forward and blunt personality and the fact that she just doesn’t give a crap. One of the reasons that I’ve loved both books so far. That, and Lord Maccon. Yum.

I like how it’s not just the main characters that the book focuses on. The side-characters have 3D personalities and even the people who are only mentioned but not seen are very well described. I like how much like a petulant toddler Major Channing acts and I love Lord Akeldama’s flamboyancy and the nicknames he calls Alexia!

If you’ve read any of my earlier posts that mention Scotland, then you will know how much it annoys me when author’s butcher the language. But not Gail Carriger. I think this is the only book I have read where the author used ‘dinna’ instead of ‘donna’. NO ONE in Scotland says ‘donna’, unless they’re saying someone’s name. Sometimes we say ‘gonnae no dee that’, but only as a joke. Never seriously. So, YAY! Someone finally got it right!

One thing that threw me is when Alexia’s going down to dinner and her hair is frizzy from the humidity. Scotland is not humid. It’s freezing most of the time, and raining the rest of the time. The only time that it could get slightly humid is when we have our week-long summer in the middle of May.

View all my reviews

