Tags

, , ,

Soulless (Parasol Protectorate, #1)Soulless by Gail Carriger
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Soulless is set in steampunk Victorian times and is written in a fantastical Victorian style. It was nice, it was fun and I enjoyed it.

I quite liked how, compared to most other supernatural books, werewolves, vampires, etc were common knowledge – literally everyone knows they exist. People don’t even seem to mind. All that matters is whether or not they have money.

It was also interesting to note that werewolves, even when not in wolf form, can’t really stand the sunlight. Sure, they don’t burst into flames/explode, etc, but they can’t really stand it, especially the younger ones.

I quite liked how the author alternated between calling Alexia ‘Alexia’ or ‘Miss Tarabotti’, depending on the intimacy of the situation. It was interesting and unique (well, compared to any other book I’ve read).

I also really liked the characters. Even the side characters that weren’t really in it that much. I love Ivy’s horrible taste in hats and the funny names of people who are mentioned but aren’t actually in the book themselves (e.g. Snodgrove).

It wasn’t mentioned that much in this book but I really hope the fact that Alexia, being a preternatural, has a short lift span and Lord Maccon, being a werewolf, is practically immortal, is mentioned. I mean, they’re the main characters and they’re in love! She can’t die after 20 or so years.

All in all, I really liked this book and can’t wait to read the next one!

View all my reviews

