Tags

,

V is for VirginV is for Virgin by Kelly Oram
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I thought the plot to this book was pretty good. A girl who wants to wait until marriage to have sex, her virginity gets posted all over the internet and then the local rock-and-roll bad boy finds this a challenge and goes out of his way to get her.

What I didn’t like were the characters. Some of the side characters were okay (I liked Stephanie and Olivia – which was odd, as she’s supposed to be the queen bee) but the main characters annoyed me. Valerie (the eponymous virgin) seemed a bit self-centered at times (not about her virginity. About other stuff) and she seemed so clueless about certain things that I couldn’t help groaning in frustration.

Her best friend Cara is one of the biggest, most self-centered brats I have ever seen in a book. Sure, she’s (sort of) loyal to her best friend, but the minute Valerie wants to help others, Cara freaks out and gets Kyle (the guy Valerie ‘loathes’) to show up at every possible opportunity.

And Kyle. The bad boy. To be honest, he was a dick. Valerie was saying how she wanted to wait until marriage and he didn’t give a rat’s ass. All he wanted was to get into her pants, no matter what.

So.. Other than some of the characters, I thought this book was pretty decent and it had a twist on the whole being a virgin because you want to thing. I don’t know if this book will help anyone but I thought it was a fun little read.

View all my reviews

