Tags

,

My Super Sweet Sixteenth CenturyMy Super Sweet Sixteenth Century by Rachel Harris
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

As soon as I read the blurb for this book I knew I had to read it – anything French or Italian (or Irish, for that matter) and I go gaga over it.

I was a bit disappointed.

Don’t get me wrong, the idea for the story was good and the plot was okay-ish but I just couldn’t get into it. For starters, I didn’t like the main character. And when I don’t like the main character then the book just goes downhill from there. She kept going on about how she wasn’t spoiled (when she really was) and I got fed up pretty quickly with the ever-changing ‘I can’t get close to people’, ‘I want to get close to people’, ‘Oh no! I’m getting too close to people!’ thing. It got old really quickly.

Also, quite a lot of the story went by too fast. Most authors seem to have the opposite problem, where they’re trying to shove lots of detail in at once and, as a result, the book drags. But this book? Nope. Complete opposite. There was one scene where she ‘makes up’ a play (Snow White) and the next thing that happens (pretty much the next page) is that she’s kissing the guy. And she seems shocked about it, even though she had literally just mentioned that the prince wakes the princess with a kiss.

Another thing about time travel romance that bugs me: why can’t the heroine just stay with the guy from the past? He could come to the future or she could stay in the past but pretty much every single time travel romance has a doppelganger in the future, conveniently placed for the heroine to find and ‘fall in love’ with. No. Just, no.

Ending was odd. It was like the end of a chapter but, instead of a chapter, it was the end of the book. And I don’t get the impression that there’s gonna be a sequel. Unless she goes back to a different era. But I doubt that will happen, seeing as she’s got the guy and all that.

So…yeah. Aside from that, I quite liked how cutesy this book could be and I would recommend it for anyone who’s into romance, time travelling romance, Italy or the Renaissance.

View all my reviews

