Tags

,

Tempest Rising (Tempest #1)Tempest Rising by Tracy Deebs
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

There were quite a few things I enjoyed about this book. For starters, it actually described the whole ‘changing-into-a-mermaid’ thing, instead of having the main character suddenly becoming one.

I also liked Kona (the hero). It’s not very often you read a book with selkies and even less so one where the man is a selkie.

Another thing I liked (and you may find this weird) is that Tempest was tall. Almost 6 feet tall. It really annoys me how authors like to make their heroines ridiculously short (I once read a book where the heroine was 4 foot 5. What?!).

Saying all that, there were a couple of things that annoyed me. First off, the surf talk could get a bit confusing if you’re like me and have never really surfed before.

Also, at the beginning of the book, there’s an incident that happens in October and then 2 weeks later she turns 11 – which means her birthday is in October or November. Not even 2 chapters later her birthday is in February. So…yeah. Continuity errors.

But, other than that, I enjoyed this book and I’m not a big fan of mermaid books to begin with.

View all my reviews

