Tags

, , ,

Drink, Slay, LoveDrink, Slay, Love by Sarah Beth Durst
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Vampires would hate Scotland in the summer. From the end of June until the end of August the sun doesn’t set until about 10 or 11 at night and, even then, the sky doesn’t get completely dark before the sun’s rising again at 2, 3 in the morning. Although, saying that, in the winter the sun sets at 4 in the afternoon and then rises again at 8 in the morning. So, maybe they’d like that. Who knows. They’re mythical.

I wasn’t sure about this book to begin with but, after a couple of chapters, I really got into it and enjoyed it.

First off, were-unicorns. Now that’s a new one I’ve never heard of before. And I really liked it. The author says that vampires and were-unicorns are natural enemies and that unicorns have horns on their heads to stake vampires. Which makes so much sense. Why have I never thought of that before?

Also, the heroine’s mother was comically scary. She didn’t say or do anything ridiculously scary in the novel but Pearl (the heroine) describes some of the things she’s done in the past for stupid little things. Which, if I’m honest, made me giggle a little.

Read this book if you like vampires. Also, read this book if you like unicorns.

But, maybe don’t read this book if you like My Little Pony. This book’s a bit darker than that.

Wait, are My Little Pony‘s unicorns?

Just checked Google. Not really sure if they are or not. The sparkles and the pink and the wings are distracting.

Anywho, read this book!

View all my reviews

