Tags

,

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Okay, yes, I loved this! I saw the film with one of my flatmates when it first came out and knew that I’d have to read the books. I’m glad I did. I couldn’t put it down!

As you probably all know, this book is sort of like Battle Royale in that there are children fighting to the death until one remains. But the Hunger Games spices things up a bit by adding muttations (animal mutations) and fire and stuff like that.

I found it was well written in that the story pulled you along with it and it felt like you were actually there. I also liked the relationship between Katniss and Peeta and, even though I knew what would happen, I still felt sorry for Peeta at the end.

The thing that surprised me was (spoiler) Peeta loses his leg! I was like ‘Oh no!’ because, well, in the film it gets better. Peeta!

So I’m going to go read the next one and those of you who haven’t read this need to!

View all my reviews

