Tags

, , , ,

An actual cooking post!  I think this is the first one I’ve done that hasn’t involved baking!

Voila!  My spinach and goat’s cheese tart:

The reason that a quarter of it doesn’t have spinach is because my brother doesn’t like spinach and would have refused to have even tried it.  Fussy eater, that boy.

This is the treat that my flatmates and I make whenever we want some nice comfort food.  And it’s really easy to make.

Just a head’s up.  We don’t actually measure weights, etc, when we make this so I’m gonna try as best I can.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pack puff pastry
  • 1 onion
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 bag spinach
  • 1 pack goat’s cheese
  • 1 pack cherry tomatoes
  • 1 pack (nice quality) ham (optional)

Roll out your puff pastry to fit a tray, or dish that’s roughly 30cm x 20cm.  Add some oil to a pan and heat it up.  Once it’s heated, add the whole onion (diced), and the tbsp of sugar and fry for ~5 minutes.  Spread around the bottom of the pastry.

While the onion is frying, steam your spinach.  Make enough to cover the onions (you can make more if you like your spinach, like myself).

Chop up the goat’s cheese, cherry tomatoes and ham (if you’re using it), and evenly distribute over the top.

Cook for 20 minutes and 200C and enjoy.

