Tags

, ,

An Improper ProposalAn Improper Proposal by Patricia Cabot
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

As much as I love my annoying little brother (or, rather, younger, as he’s nearly a foot taller than me now), I’ve often wondered what it’d be like to have an older brother.

Payton has 3. And they are all really overprotective of her. Which is sweet, in an ‘I’m-gonna-hurt-you-if-you-don’t-stop’ kinda way.

What can go wrong with a book set in the early 19th century that includes pirates and being stranded on a desert island with an attractive man? Nothing. It’s what most sappy romantics dream of (I’m ashamed to admit that I’m included in that lot…).

This book was fun from the beginning. Payton isn’t like most women her age. For one thing, she swears. For another, she wears trousers and likes to be at sea. All I can say about that is, if she was like most of the women her age then the book wouldn’t be nearly so interesting and fun.

Drake (the hero) is just as handsome and manly as the rest of Cabot’s heroes. Again, I’m not complaining. I like my men manly.

Actually, if I’m being honest, my favourite character was Drake’s grandmother Lady Bisson. She only had a part in about five or so chapters, but she was such a little badass (in as much as an old woman can be badass). I loved it!

View all my reviews

