Tags

,

Existence (Existence Trilogy, #1)Existence by Abbi Glines
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Pagan reminded me so much of Bella from Twilight. Only she happened to go one step further and get herself admitted to a psychiatric centre after she freaked out when Dank (the hero of the story) left.

Why? Why do some authors insist on making their heroine dependent on the hero? It’s basically just saying that it’s okay for girls to cling constantly to guys.

Also, even though Pagan already had a boyfriend, she kept going on about how it was wrong for her to stay with him and that she should just end things. But did she? Nope. She would suddenly start to think of Dank and, magically, her guilt towards leading her boyfriend on would disappear.

Pagan’s best friend, Miranda, annoyed the hell out of me. She’s such a spoiled brat! It seemed like her friends always let her get her way because they didn’t want her to throw a tantrum.

The only characters (that had been developed) that I liked were Dank and Wyatt (Miranda’s boyfriend). Wyatt seemed like a genuinely nice guy with a decent sense of humour and I enjoyed that. Dank was dark and mysterious (in a non annoying way) and I’m a sucker for that. Also, he’s basically the grim reaper. I thought that was a nice twist.

Even though I only gave this book 3 stars, I really want to read the next one and find out what happens next!

View all my reviews

