Tags

, , ,

Lady of SkyeLady of Skye by Patricia Cabot
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Finally! An author who can actually write Scottish dialect without going over the top and butchering the language!

Brenna (the heroine) is a strong, confident women, who lives by herself (shocking!), and is trying to prove her father’s theory that miasma’s of disease don’t exist. I love when books have strong female leads, instead of simpering ninny’s. The book instantly becomes 10x better.

Reilly (the hero) is a gentleman who has moved from London to the Isle of Skye. Whereas most of the other men that he knows don’t give a rat’s ass about how they treat their women, Reilly is a gentleman, through and through. It helps that he sounds really ruggedly handsome.

One thing I didn’t get about this book was how Reilly understood everyone – Scots can be quite broad. I’ve lived in the North East all my life and we’re hard enough to understand as it is. The West is even worse and quite a lot of them speak Gaelic – which I don’t understand at all. Imagine how much broader it would have been in 1847 (when the book was set). My mum’s family is from London and she always has to translate for them whenever they come to visit.

There were some little errors where she called things by the American name instead of the English name (‘diapers’ instead of ‘nappies’; ‘sweater’ instead of ‘jumper’; ‘pants’ instead of ‘trousers’. That sort of thing). But, overall, it wasn’t that bad.

I also quite liked Lord Glendenning’s character. Even though he’s a womaniser, he cares about his people and seems to be a nice person. Also, he’s quite funny when he’s drunk.

View all my reviews

