Tags

,

Epic FailEpic Fail by Claire LaZebnik
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve always been a sucker for Pride and Prejudice so when I heard about this I knew I just had to read it.

I think it’s clever how the author has changed all the characters names but kept them similar to their original names (e.g. Elizabeth Bennett = Elise Benton, Mr. Darcy = Derek). Also, instead of there being 5 sisters, there were only 4.

I liked Elise’s character. She was strong, sarcastic (in a funny way) and caring about her family (in so much as a teenage girl cares about her dysfunctional family).

I also liked Derek’s character. But that might be because I’ve always loved Mr. Darcy (who doesn’t?). He’s sultry, quiet and likes to keep to himself but that has always added to Mr. Darcy’s appeal, and the same goes for Derek.

The only downside to this book was the ending. It was slightly disappointing but, at the same time, it made it seem more realistic: her sister, Layla (Lydia), is still an annoying brat who only cares about what people think of her; Elise is worrying about how people will see her relationship with Derek – will they only think she’s going out with him for his status and money? That sort of thing. Which made for a nice change, but I love me a happy ending. Which it was. But not completely.

View all my reviews

