Tags

, , ,

I completely forgot to take pictures as I went along this time 😦
But I will remember next time!

(Sorry for the qualities of the photos.  They were taken on my phone)

This is what I like to call my ‘Chocolate Marble Cake’.  I was bored of plain, old vanilla cake so I decided that it might be nice to take some of it out, add cocoa powder to it and then dollop and swirl it in to the original mixture.  I think it worked out rather well.  It tastes good, that’s for sure.

The marble bit doesn’t look that great in this picture but I didn’t get a chance to try to take any different pictures as my flatmates descended.

Ingredients:
Cake:

260g butter, at room temperature
260g caster sugar
4 eggs, slightly beaten
2 tsp vanilla extract
260g self-raising flour
2tbsp milk (I use semi-skimmed and it works quite well, but it’s up to you which milk you prefer)
Icing:
140g butter, at room temperature
280g icing sugar
1tbsp milk
1tsp food colouring (You could use more, but I used 1 tsp of red and it turned out quite vibrant)

1.  Preheat oven to 180C and grease an 8″ cake tin (I used my square one, which I was quite excited about as I’ve never used it before.  I like to be boring and make my cakes square.  To be honest, I totally forgot I had it.  Now I can make one of those ‘Congrats on the sex’ cakes that the Lonely Island boys have.  Yay!)

2.  Cream the sugar and butter together until pale and fluffy (the usual).  Beat in your eggs bit by bit and mix in the vanilla extract.

3.  Using a spatula, fold in your flour and add the milk.

4.  Take out 4-5 tbsp of this mixture and put it into a smaller bowl.  The rest of the mixture can go into your cake tin.

5.  To the mixture that you’ve saved, add 2-3 tsp of cocoa powder and mix well.  Dollop this onto the mixture in the cake tin and use a knife to swirl it in.  Cook for 40-45 minutes.

6.  To make the icing, beat your butter until it’s soft and then add half of your icing sugar.  Mix until smooth.

7.  Add the rest of the icing sugar as well as the milk and mixture until it’s turned creamy.

8.  Add your food colouring and stir it in.

9.  Once your cake is out of the oven and has cooled down, simply ice it and enjoy! 

I might try Red Velvet Chocolate Marble Cake next time.  Oh, the possibilities!

