Tags

,

The Fine Art of Truth or DareThe Fine Art of Truth or Dare by Melissa Jensen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this. Although, I was a bit bummed about the ending. I mean, I thought that they would announce their relationship because, well, it seemed to get mentioned quite a bit about how they were hiding and how she was his ‘dirty little secret’. But other than that, I really, really liked this.
Ella seems like a real person (which is quite hard to find in books nowadays). She’s a quiet girl, who likes to stick with her two best friends – who are actually 3D characters as well. So many authors focus on the main characters and don’t bother about the rest. Melissa Jensen actually made all her characters come to life – and she doesn’t like confrontations. She thinks that if she hadn’t had her accident and, subsequently, been bullied for the scar the accident caused, that she would be just like any other girl her age.
I also really liked her family. It is a huge family and everyone is really loud and really close. I always like when books give the characters loud, caring families. It’s really sweet (in an amusing, embarrassing way). Again, she would have probably been loud too – if not for her accident.
Another thing I liked was that the plot seemed like it could actually happen in real life. Nothing was outrageous or over the top but the plot kept me hooked from the beginning.
To be honest, I wasn’t sure if I would like this because of ‘Falling in Love with English Boys’, another of Melissa Jensen’s novels. But, I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised and I look forward to reading more from her.

View all my reviews

