Tags

,

I think the macarons I made last time must have been a fluke.  Also, they might have looked good only because I made them during my baking course. (Sorry for the quality of the photos!  My phone doesn’t have a shake reducer thing!)

Also, I don’t like the light in our kitchen.  It’s one of those bright, fluorescent ones that makes everything look weird.

So!  I made chocolate macarons again!  They looked weird (blob shaped instead of circle, full of cracks, etc) but they tasted like macarons!  AND THEY HAD THE CRUST!!  I have never been able to get the crusts (except for that time on the baking course.  But again…fluke).

And! I also remembered to take photos as I was making them!  Get in!  Although, granted, they’re on my phone so they don’t look that great.  Also, bigger pictures!  (You can so tell I’m still figuring out how to use WordPress…)

Recipe time!

Ingredients:

For the macarons:
125g ground almonds
200g icing sugar
3 medium egg whites
2 tbsp caster sugar
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1tbsp cocoa powder
For the chocolate ganache:
100g dark chocolate
1tbsp water
55g butter, at room temperature
110g icing sugar

1.  Mix the ground almonds and icing sugar together in a food processor until they are well combined.  Set aside.

2.  Using an electric whisk, whisk the egg whites in a large bowl until they form stiff peaks (I know it doesn’t look like they’re stiff in my photo but they are).  Whisk in the cream of tartar and caster sugar until smooth and glossy.

3.  Gently fold in the cocoa powder and the blended ground almonds/icing sugar.

4.  Spoon the macaron mixture into a piping bag (TIP!  Don’t cut the bag until all the mixture is in, and only then cut about 1.5cm off!  It so much easier than having it drip out of the bag as you’re filling it  You can’t really see it that well in my picture, sorry!)

5.  Pipe 4cm circles onto baking trays that have been lined with greaseproof paper. Leave a gap of ~2cm between each one.  If a peak forms, wet your finger and smooth it down.  Set aside for 60 minutes (enough time to do the washing up and get the ganache ready!)  I made them too big so that’s why there’s not that many…

6.  While waiting for the ganache, melt the chocolate in a bowl with the water over a saucepan of gently boiling water.  Set aside to cool slightly (removing the bowl from the pan helps…) as you don’t want it to melt the butter.

7.  While the chocolate is cooling, cream the butter and icing sugar together until light and fluffy.

8.  Add the chocolate into the creamed butter and sugar and mix well.  Allow it to set a little before using.

9.  Back to the macarons!  Preheat your oven to 160C (140C for fan ovens).  Bake the macarons in the oven for 10-15 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let them cool for a few minutes before removing from the greaseproof paper and letting cool completely.

CRUSTS!!!  (You’ve no idea how excited I was when I saw them)

10.  To assemble the macarons, simply spoon the ganache onto one shell and find another (roughly the same size) to sandwich them together.  Chill in the fridge for 30 minutes (I couldn’t because my flatmates were closing in.  It doesn’t really make any difference, though.  Putting them in the fridge just helps them solidify a bit)

I’m gonna make some more on Monday so I can take them home to my parents’ on Tuesday (I have an OPITO aptitude test.  Wish me luck!).  They’ve never actually tried my macarons.  Good thing I’ve decided to experiment with flavours when I go home properly for the summer!

 

