Tags

,

Yay!  Another recipe post!  This is the first time I have baked in ages (not including some cupcakes I made a couple weeks back).

Behold!  Kransekake.  A Danish celebration cake.

I wasn’t celebrating anything.  I just really wanted to try making one.  And it turned out as a success!

 

I haven’t tried it yet.  I’m waiting for my flatmates to get back before I even begin figuring out how to slice this baby.

Ingredients:

  • 450g ground almonds
  • 4 egg whites
  • 450g icing sugar
  • butter for greasing the trays

You need kransekake trays for this!  You can try it without them but it will be harder!

  1. Put the ground almonds in a bowl and add one egg white.  Mix to form a thick dough.
  2. Add the icing sugar and the rest of the egg whites and mix together.
  3. Heat the dough up in a pan over a gentle heat until warm.  Wrap in clingfilm and put in the fridge until the next day.
  4. Grease the kransekake trays and set the oven to 200C.  Take the dough out of the fridge and roll it out until it is the thickness of fingers.  Place the dough in the rings, pinching off the ends to make perfect circles.
  5. Cook for 10 minutes.  Wait until the kransekake is completely cool before removing from the rings.

To assemble:
Ice the bottom of the biggest kransekake ring and place it on a plate.  Ice the rings in scallops as you place the rings on top of one another.  Dust with icing sugar (I also added silver edible glitter).
Enjoy!  (As I hopefully will when I try it later).

Also, thank you Leanne for letting me use your camera!  It looks so much better than the photos on my phone!

