Tags

, ,

I’m just going to get this out of the way and lump all my fave books that I haven’t reviewed into one post and then get back to updating every time I finish a book.

Alice's Adventures in WonderlandAlice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ah, the old classic. Yes, I’m a bit of an Alice in Wonderland fan; I’ve seen most of the films and read the sequel and most of the spin-offs. But it never gets old. I love how everything is so whimsical and silly and Alice questions it most of the time but goes along with it anyway.

StardustStardust by Neil Gaiman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I adore Neil Gaiman’s work. The Graveyard Book (even though it’s for kids), American Gods, Neverwhere, etc, etc, etc. But Stardust is a personal favourite of mine. I read it before I saw the film and they have done it justice (if not missed out and added in a few bits). The world beyond Wall is amazing and magical and Tristran’s adventures are hilarious and touching as he brings the Star back to England.

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Hitchhiker's Guide, #1)The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is so delightfully British that it makes me proud to say I am, too. Poor Arthur Dent’s house gets destroyed (along with the rest of the planet) and all he gets to take with him as he wanders through the Universe is his dressing gown and a towel.

We We by Yevgeny Zamyatin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The inspiration for George Orwell’s fantastic classic 1984. We is a bit more extreme than 1984 in that their houses are completely see-through and the don’t even have proper names, just a letter then some numbers (the main character’s name is D-503). I really enjoy dystopian future novels. They’re very surreal but real at the same time and you can actually see the world ending up like that in the future. The way that this has been written is like a diary and we get to experience everything that D-503 has done as he writes down his thoughts and feelings about the events.

The Secret HistoryThe Secret History by Donna Tartt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Secret History was a bit slow to start with (for me, anyway). But, once the story had started, it had me hooked. We get to follow the students of the Classics class as they start off as eccentric outcasts and gradually become more and more dark and twisted inside. The ending made me feel quite sad but I could see that it would happen eventually and the novel wouldn’t have been as good if it hadn’t had the ending it had.

Perfume: The Story of a MurdererPerfume: The Story of a Murderer by Patrick Süskind
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Perfume: the story about a man who has no scent but an amazing nose. We follow Grenouille as he travels through France trying to create the perfect perfume and how he becomes obsessed with the scent of young women. Some parts of the book are quite disturbing (especially the end) but there is a dose of humour in it that balances things out. Almost.

Northanger AbbeyNorthanger Abbey by Jane Austen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is the only Jane Austen novel that has had me hooked from the very first page. Catherine is quite a strong, if somewhat naive young woman who is a bit of a ‘tomboy’ and loves Gothic novels. She goes to Bath with Mr. and Mrs. Allen who are friends of her family and while she is there she meets Henry Tilney and his sister, along with others. As she is preparing to leave Bath, Henry’s sister asks if she would like to stay with them at the home (Northanger Abbey) and Catherine agrees, expecting it to be all dark and gothic.

As You WishAs You Wish by Jackson Pearce
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Yes, it’s a young adult novel. But they’re so good for something quick and fun to read! I love the relationship between Vi and Jinn and how it develops throughout the book. I also like how Vi becomes her own person and stops relying so much on her best friend.

Ransom My HeartRansom My Heart by Meg Cabot
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Yes, it’s a Meg Cabot book. Yes, it’s a bit raunchier than she usually writes. But I love it. It’s a sort of guilty pleasure, almost. Finn’s sister has spent all her dowry and so Finn decides to kidnap and hold to ransom a wealthy merchant as they travel through her village. Who she kidnaps instead is actually Hugo Fitzstephan who is the Earl of the big estate just outside the village. He keeps his identity secret from her and the two of them travel through the countryside together, gradually falling in love with one another.
Yes, it’s cheesy but I can’t help loving it.

View all my reviews

