Tags

, ,

So, I turned 21.  Two weeks ago but oh well.  I’m still allowed to mention it.  My flatmates got me some nice goodies and among those were a cookie gun and an electric icing pen.  Both very fun to play with.  Especially when you’ve been drinking.

And eating chocolate.
To test out my cookie gun I used a simple vanilla cookie recipe and they turned out really well.  The gun has all sorts of shapes: Christmas themed, Halloween themed, Valentine themed, miscellaneous and, my personal favourite, dinosaur (although it came out more like a blob).

My flatmate commandeered the glittery icing…

Vanilla cookies:

  • 70g butter, room temperature
  • 1 medium egg
  • 270g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Set the oven to 170C.  Beat the butter and sugar together in a large bowl using an electric mixer until pale and fluffy.  Mix in the egg, baking powder and vanilla extract.  Add the flour in batches until completely combined.

Not all of the mixture fit in the cookie gun in one go so I did it in batches (not eating chocolate fondue and drinking gin in between…)

And, because it was in batches I was able to change the shape easily!

Cook for ~10 minutes until the cookies are golden brown.

Enjoy!

