Tags

, , ,

Sorry it’s been so long since I last posted.  But I have an excuse!  My flat doesn’t have internet yet so I’ve had to go down to the café around the corner.  But since my laptop is going to die soon I’ll get into the recipe!  (I don’t have any pictures because my friend and I ate pretty much all of it as soon as it came out of the oven…)

  • 125g unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 60g caster sugar, plus extra for dusting
  • 190g plain flour
  • ½ tsp salt

Butter an 8in spring-form cake tin.

Beat the butter and sugar together until pale and fluffy.  Gradually add the flour and salt and mix well until the mixture is smooth.

Scoop the mixture into the cake tin, and smooth it out (I find the back of a spoon works really well for this).  Crimp the edges using a fork then score the shortbread into 8 pieces with a knife and prick each triangle 3 times with a fork.  Chill in the fridge for 30 mins to allow it to firm up.

Preheat oven to 170oC.  Remove the shortbread from the fridge and bake for ~30-35 mins, until it turns pale golden-brown.

Remove the shortbread from the oven and dust with some caster sugar.  Leave to cool in the tin for a few minutes before removing it and cooling it on a wire rack.

Also, did anyone watch ITV’s This Morning not last Wednesday but the Wednesday before?  I was on TV!  I don’t think I’ve ever felt so uncomfortable in all my life!  I looked so awkward!  But my cake got shown!  Yay!

Whoops, got about 5 mins left.  Gotta run!

